top of page

La Mirada Taco Bell Sales Skyrocket after “Shame Free” Torrey Conference


LA MIRADA - A local Taco Bell has received an amazingly unusual boost in sales this past weekend. Reports from branch manager Mike Shcott suggests that sales for the weekend have increased by a staggering 400%.

“I couldn’t believe it,” Shcott said, “I just couldn’t believe it. I have no one to thank but myself.” Upon further investigation, however, analysts believe that the sales boost was not due to the manager’s own doing, but to the 81st Annual Torrey Conference held across the street at Biola University. Spokesperson Debro Debrah speculated that the theme of abandoning shame may have led students to feel more guilt free about their fast food choices.

“A lot of youth today are afraid to identify with budget-friendly fast food,” Debrah claimed, “With restaurants like Chipotle and Tom’s Tailgate entering the mix, many students feel shameful about associating with a restaurant such as Taco Bell.” Students seem to agree with Debrah’s hypothesis.

“Well, I’m not really sure how to describe the feeling, but after Torrey Conference, I knew I should no longer feel ashamed about loving Taco Bell,” freshman Christy Carson says, “I instagrammed a photo of my Big Box Meal. I filled my hydroflask with Baja Blast, I even called my mom to let her know. We both cried, it was a really tender moment.”

We reached out to a representative for Taco Bell, Inc. to comment on the incident, but have yet to receive a response.


bottom of page