top of page

Study: The Average Biolan Must Have 4 DTRs Before Finding Their Ring by Spring


A highly scientific study commissioned by the Center for Marriage and Relationships has shed some light on the mysterious phenomenon of the DTR. Also known as Defining the Relationship (or Del Taco Run), the study revealed that the average Biola student experiences 4 DTRs before they find themselves engaged by the end of their senior year. This averages to one DTR per year of college for the traditional undergraduate student.

“The first time I had a DTR, it was at Eagle’s Nest and it didn’t go so well, but I had my 4th DTR, with this girl named Monica that I met in Nature of Math,” Jake Chadsworth, a junior Biblical Studies major, recalls, “I thought after going on a GYRAD with her, we were ready to take the next step. I had been carrying a ring around since I started at Biola, and I proposed to her right then and there in the SUB at 10:47 pm.”

In 3 out of the 12 cases studied, the students didn’t DTR at all, and instead proposed to the first person they meet during SOS Week.

The one outlier was Frank McStuffins, sophomore Biochemistry major, who has a DTR at least once every week with a different girl.

“I don’t get what I’m doing wrong, statistically I should have met my wife by now” he cries while consuming a soft serve ice cream cone at the Caf.

DTRs are not for everybody and any individual who considers having a DTR should consult their doctor.


bottom of page