top of page

The Bells Reviews the Biola Film "The Bacchae"


The movie begins with a blaring alarm clock. Maggie, the film's main protagonist, wakes up abruptly; a look of sadness strewn across her face.

This is the opening to "The Bacchae" and it is powerful and visually stunning. The opening really sets up our expectations for the rest of the film. This is a striking film about finding, and losing, one's identity.

When Maggie arrives at her high school she is bullied mercilessly. Her peers call her horrendous names as she walks through the school halls. After school one schoolmate shoves Maggie to the ground, causing her to drop all of her school materials. It is at this moment that we meet Joshua.

Joshua is a young man about Maggie's age. Maggie and Joshua slowly develop a romantic relationship, but soon that all comes crashing down.

The intentions of the film are clear. When our identity is placed in others, how do we find our true identity without them? Their are beautiful moments of visual foreshadowing in "The Bacchae" throughout the film. Nearly every time we see Joshua on screen with Maggie his shadow blocks out her entire face, representing the loss of Maggie's identity when Joshua is around.

After this Maggie goes to the store... No, sorry, she goes to a waterpark? I'm pretty sure there's a scene where she accepts her womanhood.... Ok, to be completely honest, I haven't seen the film. I just assumed it was some pretentious coming of age story. Was I right? I don't know I didn't see the movie.

In fact the film hasn't been released yet. It doesn't come out until Friday. I am such a fool! What was I thinking? My career is over.

I'm a fraud! A liar! A charlatan! Oh what have I done? I have sinned against God. May he show me mercy and forgive me of my transgressions!

I want to take this time to apologize to everyone I have lied to.

To my parents I have disappointed you yet again. Please find it in your hearts to forgive me and please allow me to come home for Christmas.

To the filmmakers of "The Bacchae," I want to apologize. I am sure your film is incredible. I wish you the best of luck with your film. I have failed you.

Most importantly, I want to apologize to you the reader. I betrayed your trust. My reputation as a journalist is forever scarred by my transgressions and I hope that in time, I can regain your trust.

I am truly sorry for all the grief I may have caused.

I give the film four out of five stars.


bottom of page