top of page

Nickelback to Play Torrey Conference


The news comes on the heels of the announcement of Chad Kroeger's recent transformation into the Christian faith. The band is now putting together a youth revival to help reach young students for the Lord.

"I just had this moment of realization. I was down on my luck after a show in Oslo where we got booed off the stage and I just cried out saying God, if you are real, will you help me. It was in that moment that I gave my life to the Lord and since then we've vowed to use our platform for good. We intend to re-do a lot of our popular hits for our upcoming shows," said front man Chad Kroeger.

The Torrey conference team has been working tirelessly to find a way to get students in the seats at every main session.

"This seemed like the best and most financially viable way to get students excited about Torrey," said director Michael Ahn, "Nickelback has a cult following especially with the Biola crowd and as soon as we heard Chad was a Christian we jumped on the news STAT."

Nickelback has been working on Christian renditions of their classic hits such as Photograph (of the Lord), Far Away (From Heaven), Animals (of uncleanliness - Song of Sacrifice), and Jesus is a Rockstar.

"We want to be relevant, we want to be edgy, we want students to sing along. Our sound is the same classic Nickelback sound, but our edge is anew, just like our lives" added Kroeger.

Sophomore Journalism major Gene Rayburn had some thoughts, "I just don’t get it. It really just seems like a waste of money to bring a washed up rock band to Biola. I have been to a concert and the guys say dirty jokes. I am disappointed, but I get that I need to show grace."

Even with the negative responses, chapel programs is still going forward with the decision.

"There's no reason for us to pull the plug, we have already put an 80% down payment on the $50,000 booking fee and we intend to finish what we started" said Ahn.

Said one student, "At least they won't play 'Oceans.'"


bottom of page